Inspiring landscapes

In 2008 I visited New Zealand, and the striking landscapes of the South Island provided me with great inspiration for some of the settings in the trilogy of books I have been writing for some years now. Some of the places we drove through looked exactly like I had imagined the landscapes in the story – I could almost see the characters in place there. Perhaps it was these inspiring surroundings that allowed parts one and two to flow so easily, but why part three is proving difficult. Maybe I will just have to plan another trip there…?

Scenes like the one in this photo have really stuck with me. Haunting and inviting at the same time – it looks like a place just begging to be explored, and to me, that is also exactly what a good book should be all about.

 

 

Leave a Reply

