Who would you choose?

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.”

JD Salinger

I can think of several books I have read over the years that have made me feel this way about the author, mainly so I could discuss the book with them and have them tell me all the secrets that might lie behind the story. The first authors that spring to mind here are Louis de Bernieres and David Mitchell, but there will be many more. Which ones would you choose to be friends with?

There are of course also the ones you probably don’t particularly want to be friends with; the ones who you want to call up and simply say, “What on earth were you thinking?” That is the power of a novel, whether very good or very bad.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. AnjiAnji says:

    Me again!

    Definatley Stephen King .
    Walt Whitman
    Dorothy Parker
    John Steinbeck

    And Jackie Collins, I want to hear all the celeb gossip. Xxx

    Like

  2. Mel says:

    David Mitchell would be a great one but then there is always the risk that I would leave the conversation more confused than I was when I started it… I’m not sure he’d be the kind of friend that you could ask for advice as I’m sure the problem would become more complicated as it was unravelled!

    Not fiction, but I read Caitlin Moran’s How to Be a Woman a while ago and I am so desperate for her to be my friend.

    Like

    1. I would love to chat to Stephen King! And I agree completely about the potential confusion David Mitchell would cause, though I still think it would be a fabulous conversation, even if you didn’t understand any of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

