A peculiar sort of a job

“Being a writer is a very peculiar sort of a job: it’s always you versus a blank sheet of paper (or a blank screen) and quite often the blank piece of paper wins.”
Neil Gaiman

I like writing longhand in notebooks, so for me it’s the blank piece of paper as opposed to the screen that usually wins. It’s winning at the moment as I try and finish the third book in the trilogy that I seem to have been writing forever. I like writing longhand and then typing it up – for me this is the first part of the editing process. It forces you to read every line you have written and scrutinise it, changing things as you go.

I haven’t read any of Neil Gaiman’s books, though I have seen a couple of movie adaptations of his work (Coraline and Stardust), which I enjoyed. One of the next books on my to read to list is Neverwhere – it sounds intriguing and I think it will be a good place to start with a new author. But, for now, back to that notebook…

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anji says:

    I have Neverwhere. You can have a lend when you come over in a couple of weeks. Great book. Don’t watch the TV show it’s very dated and Neil Gaiman has expanded on the TV brilliantly in the book. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

