Mapping inspiration

The fantasy trilogy I’m writing at the minute was inspired by several different things, one of which was old paper maps –  there’s just something a bit “other-worldly” about them. The old discoloured paper, the beautiful calligraphy, the sense that the person making it didn’t quite know whether they had got it right or not.

IMG_20121120_214051

Over the summer there was an exhibition where I work that featured Cabinet of Curiosity style displays. I particularly like the look of jumbled up cabinets – it looks like you never know what you might find. But the displays of old rolled up maps just made me think about that third part of the trilogy that I’m desperately trying to finish, reminding me of the things that had inspired me in the first place. It’s funny how inspiration can come from unexpected places.

 

Leave a Reply

