How many attempts is too many?

I’ve just picked up a book to begin reading for the third time, having read the first two chapters twice before. I just can’t seem to be able to get into it. I’ve read several books by this author before and really enjoyed them, so it seems likely that I will enjoy this one too. Or is that just being optimistic? How many times can you attempt a book, whether you think you’ll really like it or whether you have no idea if you’ll like it or not, before just giving up?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Anji says:

    I think i attempted The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie about 3 or 4 times before i gave up. A book shouldnt be a chore it should be a pleasure. x

    Like

    1. I agree. I have given up again and am now reading The Night Circus, which I had no trouble becoming enthralled by. The difference between that and the last book is vast.

      Like

  2. Anji Dawson says:

    the night circus is a good read, speaking of which when is the next book club? x

    Like

Leave a Reply

