Recommended Reads: The Last Werewolf

“In my dreams a small wolf slept inside of me and it wasn’t comfortable. It moved its heels and elbows and paws, struggled to make space between my lungs, stomach, bladder. Occasionally a scrabbling claw punctured something and I woke. What were you dreaming? Arabella wanted to know. I knew what I was dreaming. It was dreaming of being born.”

A book randomly picked up in the library that turned out to be the most gripping thing I had read in quite a while.

The Last Werewolf is called Jake Marlowe, and his slice of the mythology is gritty, violent and bittersweet. A group of hunters bent on destroying the supernatural in all its forms have wiped out the rest of his kind, but Jake is so depressed at the basic crappy state of his life that he has contemplated killing himself anyway, even though it would mean putting an end to an ancient species. But he hasn’t put an end to it all, even after so many years, and continues to make the effort to run from those who would kill him.

Jake has always been on the run, but now finds himself pursued not only by the human hunters, but also by vampires, for reasons unknown.  He is also running from his past and his haunting first kill, and from the notion of forming any kind of relationship with anything that isn’t liquid and alcoholic. Despite this, he isn’t a difficult character to like. I was rooting for him to survive from the very beginning – he is the last of his kind, and he might not be perfect, but he doesn’t deserve a painful and lonely death.

The best thing about this book, however, can be summed up in the following three words – Fuck Kill Eat. This is Jakes mantra, unwanted as it may be. It’s how he lives his life. It’s not pretty, not in the slightest, and in fact in many scenes it’s downright horrific. Jake himself knows exactly what he is and often he hates himself because of it, but more often than not he hates the fact that he absolutely loves what he does and when the full moon comes he can’t get enough of Fuck Kill Eat.

“Reader, I ate him.”

As a reader, I can only describe this as refreshing. Here is a werewolf that eats people; compulsively, messily, and violently. He tries for a while to only eat bad people; criminals etc, but has to admit to himself that it just doesn’t give him the same satisfaction. The vampires here too are real killers – none of this lovey-dovey vegetarian nonsense. Vampires and werewolves that actually eat people! A novelty I very much enjoyed. Starting in his human form, Jake Marlowe would take Bella Swan straight to bed, before transforming into a hideous beast and ripping her throat out. And that’s how it should be.

“Hot tip. If you’re trying to get someone to not kill you, avoid calling him a fucking cunt.”

The ending of this book left me with a little niggle, a little bit of an unanswered question. But I couldn’t put my finger on what it was, and so I dismissed it, until I realised that there existed a sequel. Suddenly, things started to fit into place. I’m so glad I found it, because The Last Werewolf had certainly left me hungry for more.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anji Dawson says:

    Sounds good, whos the author?

    Like

    1. It’s by Glen Duncan. The sequel is good, but not as good as this one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

