Taking a break

Being a writer, I wonder sometimes if I ever truly take a break from it. People who work usually go on holiday, take time off and perhaps go to a faraway place, and forget about work for a few days or a couple of weeks. I don’t go on holiday to purposefully forget about writing, but I don’t think I could even if I wanted to. Some people see inspiration everywhere, and I think I am one of them – in people, in landscapes, in buildings, in the history of a place. So leaving the computer (and even the pen and paper) at home, doesn’t mean you won’t return from a trip away without a new idea for a story, or an interesting character profile, that you will be itching to start writing about as soon as you walk back through your front door.

It always pays to have a pen and paper to hand…

Leave a Reply

