The whole is greater than the sum of its parts

After writing a post last week about my writing and editing techniques, I realised that lately I could do better at the whole write, type read philosophy, particularly in relation to the third part of the trilogy that I am currently writing. At the moment I feel like the writing is a little disjointed, as I have been focussing on key scenes, but haven’t yet worked on the scenes that flow in-between. I have still been using my regular technique; writing in my notebook and then typing/reading/editing as I go, but I don’t feel like I’ve spent enough time on fitting the scenes together.

Writing to typing

I started writing the third part in this way after struggling to visualise how this final part of the story might go. I had all of these key scenes in my head, and so I decided to get them down on paper, before they vanished into the sea of other ideas jumping about in there. So the task I have set myself this weekend is to have a thorough read of these key scenes, go back to my plan, and work on the elements that I have neglected to give as much attention to. I know from reading certain books that bad editing can cause this disjointed feeling, particularly when different chapters are written from the point of view of different characters. You can just tell when you are reading such a book that the good ideas were there, but something in the way they have been transferred from the authors head to the page just hasn’t worked; that there has been a clear idea of those big events that push the story along, but somewhere along the line the author has forgotten that the bits in between need to be just as engaging. I don’t want to fall into that trap – the whole must ultimately be greater than the sum of its parts.

Leave a Reply

