Reading Challenge Progress

At the beginning of the year I set myself a reading challenge, one that I thought I could realistically achieve – read 25 books by the end of 2013. So far I’m not doing too badly, having read 16 books so far. Between my own eclectic tastes and the varied Book Club choices, there is quite an unusual mix. Topics have included a ghost story, a zombie/human romance, an Irish murder mystery, an old man walking from Devon to Berwick, a true story from Nazi occupied Amsterdam, and a case of missing triplets, whose rocking horses mysteriously come to life. Ratings have ranged from 1 star (awarded to an alternative Book Club choice; a truly terrible Mills and Boon), up to 4 stars, with almost half of the books so far being given this respectable rating. But no 5 stars, not yet… Though I’m starting to think that perhaps a book grows from a 4 to a 5 over time – I’m not sure whether I would always have rated certain books as highly, but when I have looked back on their impact on me and realised how memorable they have been, I think perhaps then I have promoted them to the higher rating.

Read and not yet read

Anyway, on World Book Day in March, I also made a list of specific books that I would like to read this year. This wasn’t really a challenge, as such, but unfortunately I have not yet read any of them. Looking back, I realised that most (if not all) of them are pretty weighty tomes, either physically or in subject matter, or both. So, which one do you think I should start with?

  • 1Q84 (not just one but three books, in actual fact…)
  • A Storm of Swords (though I haven’t quite finished its predecessor yet)
  • The Passage
  • Horns
  • Cloud Atlas (which, as you probably know by now, I have read before)
  • The Man Who Rained
One Comment Add yours

  1. Anji Dawson says:

    Horns!!!! I give it 5 stars. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

