What’s the worst book on your shelf?

I’ve read a few bad books in my time. Some of them, thankfully, I didn’t actually pay money for – either borrowed from friends or from the library. But what is it about being unable to get rid of books you own; even the bad ones? I’ve always found it a difficult thing to do. But this post was inspired by the fact I’ve had a book sitting in a bag under my desk for several months now, which I really don’t want to keep but that I don’t seem to be able to remove from my house.

The book under my desk

This has got to be one of the worst books I have ever read, made even worse by the fact that I actually paid money for it (it was part of a 3 for the price of 2 special offer so I didn’t pay full price, but still). In general I don’t like to waste time explaining why I thought a book was bad, so I won’t go into much detail here. My thinking is that I have wasted enough time reading the thing (and I don’t like to give up on a book, no matter how awful, or how long), but suffice it to say that I found this to be dreadful in pretty much every way, from structure to character development (or lack of) to the poor “and they all went home for tea” style ending.

My initial thinking was that I would try and recover some of the cost by selling it back to a second hand retailer, either for cash or as a trade. But no one would take it. I thought about trying to sell it myself online, but for what I would get for it, it really wasn’t worth the hassle. So I will be donating it to charity. One day. When I get around to it.

This also got me thinking about the worst book on my digital shelf. A bit more of an obscure title this time, but if there is anyone out there who had had the misfortune of reading this, you will know what I mean.

To delete or not to delete

So why don’t I just delete it? I really don’t know.

What are the worst books on your shelf?

Leave a Reply

