Stunning libraries

George Peabody Library, Baltimore

The Library: A World History by James Campbell, features some of the worlds oldest and most beautiful libraries, photographed by Will Pryce. Although I’m not sure whether I would like to read it in full (particularly not at an eye watering £48 – do you think my local library will have a copy?), I was captivated by some of the images taken in bibliothèques around the world, from England to Portugal to South Korea. I’m not that taken by the modern buildings – not that there’s anything wrong with them; they no doubt function perfectly well as libraries – but I just prefer the older examples. They are more impressive, somehow, and seem more inviting, more like a place where you could really get lost in a good book. All images by Will Pryce.

The Tripitaka Koreana at the Haeinsa Temple in South Korea
Biblioteca Joanina, in Coimbra, Portugal1

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen says:

    Thank you- I just added this to my wish list!

    Like

    1. Looks like a beautiful book doesn’t it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

