Reading review of the year

Horns Joe HillI have surpassed my goal of reading 25 books this year, with the final total being 28 (and a half – perhaps I will finish the final book of 2013, The Temptress by Paul Spicer, in the next couple of days.) There has been a real range of genres, from fantasy to Eastern culture, from modern day immigration to sci fi, from historical fact to historical fiction, making a total of 10,124 pages read (according to my tracker on Goodreads). There has been one 5 star rating – Horns, by Joe Hill – and two 1 stars (too terrible to mention). There were 2’s, 3’s and 4’s as well, with eleven books being rated 4 star, the most notable being The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (I’m not sure, yet, what it was about it that denied it that final star. I’m still thinking).

I also had a list of books that I wanted to read this year, the creation of which stemmed from my desire to finally read 1Q84. I added five more books to the must read list, read three of them, and successfully managed to avoid 1Q84 for another year.

 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin

The Passage by Justin Cronin

Horns by Joe Hill

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

The Man Who Rained by Ali Shaw

1Q84... perhaps next year

But the ones I did read – Horns, The Man Who Rained, and A Clash of Kings, were all most enjoyable and thoroughly recommended (as you can see, I got my George RR Martin all mixed up. Why would I read A Storm of Swords when I hadn’t read its predecessor?). I am now going to come up with a list of must reads for 2014, and who knows, perhaps I will actually manage 1Q84 this time…

What were your favourite books of 2013? What will you be reading next year?

Leave a Reply

