2014 Book List

It took me approximately one minute to come up with my must read list for 2014. I read three of the six on my list for 2013 (and technically one of the remaining three I had read before, so all in all, I didn’t do too badly). So including the two unread ones, one of which is the ever elusive 1Q84, the new list has nine titles that I am hoping to read this year (seen here in no particular order). And I am stating now that 1Q84 will be read this year. All three parts of it. No excuses.

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

The Passage by Justin Cronin

Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman

The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness

The Traitor Queen by Trudi Canavan

Dr Sleep by Stephen King

Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

By Blood We Live by Glen Duncan

A Feast For Crows by George RR Martin

2014 books

Of the rest of the list, one of those I am really looking forward to reading is The Ask and the Answer, the second part of Patrick Ness’s brilliant Chaos Walking trilogy. I am still slightly traumatised by the first instalment, but now feel I am ready for part two. But I am especially excited about By Blood We Live, the follow up to The Last Werewolf and Tallulah Rising by Glen Duncan, published on the 6th of February. I have reviewed The Last Werewolf but won’t review the two other titles in full, so as not to spoil them, but suffice it to say I am expecting good things from By Blood We Live if the first two are anything to go by.

On a separate note, looking back over this list I have begun to wonder whether every book published at the minute is part of a series, or is it just me? Have I just coincidentally picked a lot of books that happen to be one of many? Do I ever read any standalone novels? Do such things even exist anymore? I had to look back at the list of titles I read in 2013 to assure myself that I have in fact read novels that aren’t part of a series – 14 standalones out of 28 means there is a pretty even spread.

What are you looking forward to reading this year?

Leave a Reply

