World Book Day 2014

  1. World Book DayWhat is the best book you have read so far this year?
  2. If you could recommend one book to someone who doesn’t read much, what would it be?
  3. Which literary character would you most like to live a day in the life of?
  4. What is your favourite film adaptation?
  5. What is your favourite book series?
  6. Real book or eBook? Buy or borrow? New or used?

As I did last year, I have come up with a set of questions for all of you avid readers out there in celebration of World Book Day. Feel free to comment with your answers, or just have a think to yourself (some of the questions I admit are a bit tricky!). My own answers are below.

Happy reading!

1Q84

  1. 1Q84 Book 1 by Haruki Murakami. Detailed, intricate, slow to evolve, but gripping and completely off the wall. A world you think you know, but you don’t. The appearance of the Little People sent a shiver down my spine…
  2. I think this one needs to be something that the reader can identify with, perhaps see something of their own life in. And something funny, or ironic, or satirical.  Ben Elton and Nick Hornby spring to mind.
  3. I wouldn’t necessarily like to be the actual main character of some of these novels, but I would certainly like to spend a day living in their world – Memoirs of a Geisha, The Pursuit of Love, The Chronicles of Narnia, His Dark Materials (what would my daemon be…?)
  4. Once I started thinking about this, I started to come up with quite a list; a lot more than I thought I would. The writer doing the adaptation has to be good, obviously, but the actors chosen to play the much loved characters also need to be talented and a perfect fit for the part. Most adaptations end up being quite poor compared to the novel, but here are some of the best ones I could think of: Stand by Me, About a Boy, Misery, Game of Thrones (the series so far, at least), Brokeback Mountain, A Time to Kill.
  5. Too difficult to pick just one! Plus I am part way through a couple of series at the minute that I know will make it onto my favourites list. For now I will pick an old one and a new one: The Chronicles of Narnia, and The Hunger Games.
  6. All of them. EBooks are practical, and I do have an e-reader, but nothing beats a real book. I borrow from friends and sometimes from the library (I should really go to the library more often, I do love it and often pick up things on a whim that I’ve never heard of before, that turn out to be brilliant). I buy used books quite a lot but buy new as well, particularly if it’s something special.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Anji Dawson says:

    1-I re-read The Catcher in the Rye at the beginning of the year. A brilliant book that reminds me how horrible it is being a teenager 
    2-I think it would depend on who I was lending too. If it was one of my friends probably something like Bridget Jones’ diary as I think it’s a book all women can relate to and it’s an easy read.
    3-Winnie the Witch
    4-I love I Capture the Castle but as I have never read the book I don’t think it’s fair to have that as my favourite film adaptation. I thought the Hunger Games film was better than the book but I am going to say The Shining is my favourite film adaptation as it is so different from the book it becomes an amazing movie in its own right. I also love any (most) books adapted into musicals- Wizard of Oz, Phantom of the Opera etc… Always so strange to hear important parts of books turned into dramatic music.
    5-Lord of the Rings or His Dark Materials
    6-Real book. I like old books of classics; but if it was a recent novel I’d rather have it new.

    p.s. I think my Daemon would be a Fox.

    Like

Leave a Reply

