Reading Challenge

I set myself the challenge of reading 30 books in 2014 – 5 more than my 2013 challenge – and I have just reached my goal as of yesterday with a month to go. Looking back to what I read back in January and February, it all seems like so long ago….

I also came up with a Must Read list for this year, and I’m happy to report I have read all but two – The Passage and A Feast For Crows.

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

The Passage by Justin Cronin

Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman

The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness

The Traitor Queen by Trudi Canavan

Dr Sleep by Stephen King

Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

By Blood We Live by Glen Duncan

A Feast For Crows by George RR Martin

I have to confess, I’m really struggling with it, which is a shame, after I’d class its predecessor A Storm of Swords (2) as one of the best books I’ve ever read. I’m currently about half way through, but have been for months, and I’m not sure whether to just give up or keep trying. Have you ever given up on a book, one that you really, really wanted to read?

Needless to say, my top book so far this year was A Storm of Swords. It was followed by quite a few four star ratings, with several Patrick Ness books included, plus a couple of surprise hits coming in the form of The Uninvited by Liz Jensen and We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler (which I can’t recommend enough). But the biggest disappointment of the year, and it pains me to say this, has to come from Haruki Murakami and his 1Q84 trilogy. I was SO looking forward to reading this, and the books had been burning a hole in my shelf for quite a long time. I read all three this year, and they descended from the spectacular four star hit of Book 1 to the dismal (and probably too generous) two stars for Book 3. What a disappointing end to such a fabulous start.

With the small amount of time remaining of 2014 I will endeavour to read one or two more books to add to the list. Will I make it to the end of A Feast for Crows? I have to say, it’s unlikely…

What were your favourite and least favourite books of 2014?

Leave a Reply

