Reading Challenge 2016

My last Reading Challenge post was at the end of 2014, meaning I missed updating my reading progress for a whole year. Why do readers love so much to keep a record of the books they finish (or perhaps don’t finish)? Its obvious that there’s a massive community of readers out there that like to chart their progress, to update lists and categorise into genres, to highlight what they’re currently reading and even update which page of the book they are up to. You only have to look at Goodreads to see that. I myself am patiently waiting for the latest reading companion app, Litsy, to be released for andriod, so I can basically do what I do on Goodreads but also attach pretty pictures.

image

As I said in my previous post, I didn’t read so much in 2015. Only 9 books in total, however I did only set myself a goal of 6, so I did OK. The highlight of the year had to be Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park, and in stark contrast to this, I also discovered the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, after a recommendation by a friend and some guilty pleasure TV viewing of the Amazon adaptation. The low point? The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. Just thinking about it has made me go to my list on Goodreads and change my rating from 2 stars to 1. It had such promise, and I love the front cover. But that’s pretty much the only positive thing I can say about it…

This year I have read 9 books already, and they have been a real mix of great, terrible, and average. Here is a list of a further 9 titles I really want to read this year:

  • Let the Right One In, John Ajvide Lindqvist
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • The Eternal Dawn, Christopher Pike (reliving youth)
  • The Passage, Justin Cronin
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora, Scott Lynch
  • The Bone Clocks, David Mitchell (favourite author)
  • The Stand, Stephen King
  • Drums of Autumn, Diana Gabaldon (might not make it to this one…)
  • Day of the Triffids, John Wyndham

The Bone Clocks

The TBR pile is of course a lot larger than this list, and it will be some kind of miracle if I even get though half of these… The Passage, The Stand, and Drums of Autumn are all the size of two regular books each. But its good to have goals.

Leave a Reply

