Reading Review of the Year

This year my challenge was to read 18 books, doubling last year’s target of 9, with the aim of creeping back up to my record year of 34. (Best year on record that is, which I only started keeping in 2013). I managed to read 23 titles in 2016, plus two novellas. This total was helped along by reading a mixture of short, easy reads, as well as longer ones. In total this equalled 9291 pages.

2016 Award categories:

  • Surprise Hit of the Year: The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison. Purchased on a whim, and not a genre I would naturally pick. But very good. Read my review here.
  • Worst Book of the Year: The Scorch Trials by James Dashner. Dear me, this was just awful. A mish mash of uninteresting events strung together with a “plot” that barely made any sense. Needless to say I won’t be reading the final book in this series.
  • Longest Book of the Year: The Passage by Justin Cronin, at 785 pages. I enjoyed this book, and raced through the first 300 or so pages. It did get a little slow in the middle, before picking up again at the end.
  • Most Disappointing Book of the Year: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Not so say it wasn’t very good, because it was. I suppose I was just expecting something different.
  • Best Young Adult Book of the Year: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I thought this was going to be a bit cheesy and clichéd but it was well written and had an interesting structure, and was actually quite hard hitting in places. Think Full Metal Jacket but with children.
  • Best Book of the Year: This is a tough one and I can’t choose between the top two, mainly because they are so different. They are The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn.

If I’m going to judge my reading year on this post from March, in which I listed the books I’d most like to read in 2016, then I would have to say I’ve pretty much failed in every way. I only managed to read one book from that list – The Passage – leading me to question everything that motivates me about reading. I even own all but two of the titles. Did I actually want to read them in the first place? How did I even come up with the list? I really can’t remember. Hopefully the list I have come up with for books to be read in 2017 is full of titles I will actually read, mainly because many of them are follow ups to ones I read this year. In no particular order…

  • The Lost World
  • The Twelve
  • Drums of Autumn
  • Invasion of the Tearling
  • The Cursed Child
  • Crown of Midnight
  • Lord of the Darkwood
  • The Bone Clocks
  • The Eternal Dawn
  • Let the Right One In
  • Stardust
Leave a Reply

