Daunting

DISCLAIMER: Before I begin this post, I have to say for the record that I hate the cover of this copy of Drums of Autumn. It looks like a bad Mills and Boon, and had I not known what it was I would never in a million years have picked it up in a book shop.

 

You’ve probably all got at least one – those books that sit on your shelf, be it real or virtual, that you know you really want to read but for some reason you just haven’t picked up. There are two such books on my shelf at the moment. One is Drums of Autumn, the 4th in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. The other is Seveneves, an apocalyptic science fiction tale by Neal Stephenson.

Having read the first 3 Outlander novels, and watched the TV series, I know I really want to read Drums of Autumn. However I think I’m put off picking it up purely because of the fact it is nearly 1200 pages long, and I know I’ll probably be reading it from now until the end of the year, as no doubt I’ll pick up other books to read along side it. I’m not very good at reading one thing at a time, and the thought of reading the same book for months without mixing it in with something else doesn’t appeal to me.

Seveneves is also a very long book, which I’m guessing will have to wait until at least 2018 before I read it. But with this one I think its more the subject matter I find a little daunting – having read a couple of sample chapters on Kindle, I know that there will be a lot of descriptions of scientific theory and equipment, and being not a particularly sciency person, it might take me a while to understand what’s going on, meaning it will take me even longer to read. But it sounds interesting, and reading also leads to learning, which is never a bad thing. However it’s been waiting for me on my Kindle for some time already…

I think I might treat Drums of Autumn like a TV series – allocate a set amount of time on one day each week to read it, and little by little, I will get to the end, while also allowing for time to read other books too. If it works, I’ll do the same with Seveneves. But not until 2018.

Leave a Reply

